Governor Kim Reynolds ★ Lt. Governor Adam Gregg  

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, May 24, 2024  
CONTACT: Heather Nahas, (515) 452-2931,  

Iowa counties approved for USDA assistance following severe weather in April  

DES MOINES – This morning, Governor Reynolds spoke with U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack regarding the severe weather event in Iowa on April 26th, 2024, and her request on May 14, 2024, for USDA disaster assistance for impacted farmers. 

Secretary Vilsack informed the Governor that USDA has determined that Iowa meets the requirements for an FSA Administrator’s Physical Loss Notification (APLN) which will open up federal emergency loan assistance for impacted Iowa farmers suffering from physical farm losses in the following counties: Adair, Adams, Audubon, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clarke, Crawford, Dallas, Decatur, Fremont, Harrison, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, Story, Taylor, Union, Warren, and Wayne. 

“I want to thank Secretary Vilsack for approving this much-needed federal disaster assistance for Iowa’s farmers whose property was damaged due to severe weather last month,” said Governor Reynolds. “This opens up federal loans and other emergency assistance programs that will help our farmers recover from their losses.

 More information from USDA is expected in the coming days.  

Other News

Disaster Recovery Temporary Housing Program
posted 7/17/24

New Housing Grant Program
posted 7/16/24

Disaster Recovery
posted 7/8/24

Disaster Recovery Center Opens-New Dates
posted 7/2/24

Report Storm Damage
posted 5/22/24

Disaster Proclamation
posted 5/22/24

Alert Iowa Sign Up
posted 6/21/22

This webpage was printed on July 17, 2024. For the most current election-related information, visit the Jasper County, Iowa, EMA website at .
powered by Neapolitan Labs logo icon