# JASPER COUNTY Emergency Management Commission

1030 W.2<sup>nd</sup> St. S. Newton, Iowa 50208

Telephone: (641) 792-7555

Coordinator: Jim Sparks

#### Minutes of January 31, 2019 Commission Meeting

The Jasper County Emergency Management Commission met on January 31, 2019 at the Jasper County EOC. Those present were Brandon Talsma (Board of Supervisors), Genny Popenhagen (Baxter), David Mast (Colfax), Pat Edwards (Lambs Grove), Jen St. Peter (Monroe), Mike Hansen (Newton), Jarrod Wellik (Newton), Chad Alleger (Prairie City), Dale James (Reasnor), Tami Weishaar (Reasnor), Brent Vander Molen (Sully), John Halferty (Jasper County Sheriff), Jim Sparks (EMA Coordinator), and Kathy Ellis (EMA Assistant).

The meeting was called to order at 6:32PM by the Sheriff, John Halferty.

Roll call was taken for the meeting. Those representatives listed above were present and accounted for.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Chad Alleger and was seconded by Brandon Talsma.

Motion carried.

A motion to approve the July 31, 2018 meeting minutes was made by David Mast and was seconded by Brent Vander Moen.

Motion carried.

## Agenda Items

Public Hearing - 2020 Emergency Management Budget

A motion was made by Tami Weishaar and seconded by Alleger to open the Public Hearing on the budget at 6:34PM.

Motion carried.

There was no one in attendance from the public.

Coordinator, Jim Sparks, presented a recap of the budget. On the expenditure side, there is a 2.75% cost of living increase for all three employees, an estimated 25% increase in insurance, a 10% decrease in the operations expenditures leading to an overall increase of \$11,000 in the budget. On the revenue side, the increase in the levy rate by three cents will generate approximately \$47,000. The Emergency Performance Grant Program (EMPG) is not included in the projections. If it is received, it will be utilized to increase the capital reserve fund and the truck #55 reserve fund for future repairs and/or

replacement. The budget is balanced as presented with the fund balance being stabilized over the next couple of years. As discussed in July, future incremental increases will be recommended sooner rather than later in smaller amounts.

A motion was made to close the public hearing and reconvene the regular Commission meeting at 6:39PM by Mast and seconded by Talsma.

Motion carried.

2020 Emergency Management Budget Adoption

A motion to adopt the FY20 budget was made by Mike Hansen and seconded by Vander Molen.

Motion carried.

### **Coordinator's Update**

- Damage Assessment: Sparks explained the state will be rolling out a new app for residents and businesses to self-report damage. The damage assessment data is used to request assistance from the governor to determine the need to request a presidential disaster proclamation. EMA is asking the mayors to help push out the information to their residents. At the next level, the public works will be able to use the data. A question arose regarding the self-reporting of data, would the resident receive a response from the state/anyone?
- EMA Procurement Policy Approval: The new Procurement Policy was provided by the State in template form to update the local policy as a requirement for the EMPG program. A motion was made by Talsma and seconded by Alleger to approve the policy.

#### **Old Business**

The Sheriff recognized each community's role in serving their residents during the recent cold weather and thanked them.

It was asked if the Emergency Sirens are functioning properly. The Sheriff explained the cities are responsible for maintaining them. A non-functioning siren was removed and replaced with a larger one at the public works building last year. The sirens are tested on the first Wednesday of the month at 10AM and the city has siren listeners who complete a postcard to notify the city if they are working properly.

#### **New Business**

Dale James nominated John Halferty as Chairman and Mike Vander Molen for Vice Chair. This was seconded by Hansen.

Motion carried.

A motion to cease the nominations and to vote was made by Mast and seconded by Alleger. The motion carried and the vote was in the affirmative.

#### Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made at 6:51 by Vander Molen and seconded by Alleger.

Motion carried.