JASPER COUNTY Emergency Management Commission

1030 W.2nd St. S. Newton, Iowa 50208

Telephone: (641) 792-7555

Coordinator: Jim Sparks

Minutes of July 31, 2018 Commission Meeting

The Jasper County Emergency Management Commission met on July 31, 2018 at the Jasper County EOC. Those present were Joe Brock (Board of Supervisors), Genny Popenhagen (Baxter), David Mast (Colfax), Craig Tierney (Kellogg), Pat Edwards (Lambs Grove), Jen St. Peter (Monroe), Mike Hansen (Newton), Jarrod Wellik (Newton), Chad Alleger (Prairie City), Tami Weishaar (Reasnor), John Halferty (Jasper County Sheriff), Jim Sparks (EMA Coordinator), Josh Harding (EMA Program Coordinator), and Kathy Ellis (EMA Assistant).

The meeting was called to order at 6:32PM by the Sheriff, John Halferty.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Chad Alleger and was seconded by Craig Tierney.

Motion carried

A motion to approve the June 5, 2018 meeting minutes was made by Joe Brock and was seconded by Mike Hansen . Motion carried

Agenda Items

Outdoor Sirens

Sheriff Halferty asked the group to verify tomorrow at 10AM, the first Wednesday of the month, if all the sirens are working? If not, please notify the Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff's Office tested the sirens today to make sure they were working properly.

Financial Direction

Informational handouts were provided to look over again including the Emergency Management Commission Fiscal Status, Budget Overview, and Revenue Projection. Jim Sparks reviewed the financial projections from the June meeting, indicating that continued budget deficits would produce an estimated budget shortfall of \$40,000 by FY 19-20. Subsequent years will continue to show an increase in the deficit to the point that all reserve funds will be completely depleted. Sparks recommended that future adjustments be made on an annual basis based on the Commission's budget. Funding authority and options were presented as allowed under Chapter 29C of the lowa Code. Discussion followed among the representatives leading to the following motion.

Hansen moved to increase the levy by .03 cents for FY19-20 and was seconded by David Mast.

Motion carried

Next Meeting: To be determined

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made at 6:49PM by Alleger and seconded by Pat Edwards. Motion carried